DEPOSIT AND FINANCIAL INSTRUMENT PROTECTION FUND
FR
NL
EN
Methods of intervention
Home
The deposit protection scheme
 
General principles
 
Further explanations
Financial instruments
Other investment companies
Class 21 life insurance
Intervention rules
Members
Structure and organisation
Bodies
Secretariat
Documentation
International Cooperation
Publications
Annual activity reports
Notices
News
Using the website
 
Communication au public
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet,. Vestibulum quis erat. Donec tellus nisl, iaculis ut.
plus...
 

Protection for financial instruments

Protection covering the non-return of deposited securities
Direct property right
Strict rules on safekeeping of securities
Maximum protection
No protection for capital losses
Collective investment funds held on a securities account
Intervention rules
1. Protection covering the non-return of deposited securities

This second type of protection applies to financial instruments that a client has entrusted to his bank or stockbroking firm. In the event that this client is no longer in a position to recover his securities because the depository institution has become insolvent, he can turn to the protection scheme to make good the loss he might have incurred.

2. Direct property right

Attention should nevertheless be drawn to the wide legal protection enjoyed by a client for the instruments that he has entrusted to his financial institution. Indeed, the client always remains the legitimate owner of his securities and has the right to a direct repayment claim on them. That means that the securities must be returned to him by the trustee and can therefore never be included in the collective assets in the event of bankruptcy.

3. Strict rules on safekeeping of securities

A financial establishment's business in financial instruments is, moreover, subject to very strict rules. The legislation that entered into force as of November 2007 with the implementation of the MiFID Directive also contains measures leading to better protection for investors, not only because of improvements to the rules of conduct and provisions governing execution of orders and internal organisation of financial institutions but also thanks to a tightening up of the requirements concerning the safekeeping of financial instruments for the account of clients.

Another contribution to more advanced optimisation in the field of safekeeping of securities has been made by the legislation relating to the abolition of bearer shares which stipulates that there will no longer be any bearer securitues in circulation as of the end of 2013.

Intervention by the Protection Fund will only have to be envisaged if, after all available securities have been returned (securities belonging to the customers, as well as those belonging to the institution itself should some securities be missing), clients have not been able to recover some of their assets. This kind of scenario should only arise in the event of administrative errors or other irregularities.

4. Maximum protection

Because of these solid guarantees, the risk of a client's claim remaining open against the defaulting institution, after all available securities have been returned, is very small. For these reasons, the maximum amount of the supplementary cover provided by the investor protection scheme remains fixed at € 20,000 per person and per institution. If, on the other hand, the client in question had not yet been fully compensated, he would still retain a claim on the financial institution for which he can lay claim to a liquidation or bankruptcy dividend.

5. No protection for capital losses

Securities or financial instruments placed in deposit will be returned in the form of a transfer to a securities account opened with another institution, regardless of the value of these securities at the time the depository institution defaults. The protection scheme provides no cover against any possible capital loss on these securities.

6. Collective investment funds held on a securities account

Mutual funds (Sicav) or unit trusts are distinct legal entities and invest their resources in assets that are their own property and which can therefore not be included in the collective assets in the event of insolvency of the depository institution. These assets thus go to the clients.

7. Intervention rules

The precise conditions that need to be met in order to claim compensation under the protection scheme are mentioned in the Rules of Intervention.

These rules determine the beneficiaries who may qualify for a reimbursement, the type of assets eligible for compensation, the method of calcuating the compensation and the procedures to be respected.

 

NB: No rights can be derived from the above information

FONDS DE PROTECTION DES DEPOTS ET DES INSTRUMENTS FINANCIERS
FR
NL
EN
Le système de protection
Home
Le système de protection des dépôts
Instruments financiers
Les autres entreprises d'investissement
Assurances-vie branche 21
Capital de sociétés coopératives agréées
Règlement d'intervention
Adhérents
Structure et organisation
Organes
Contacts
Publications
Rapports d'activité annuels
Avis
News
Informations FSMA
Utilisation du site
 
Communication au public
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet,. Vestibulum quis erat. Donec tellus nisl, iaculis ut.
plus...
 
La protection des instruments financiers
La protection couvrant la non-restitution de titres confiés en dépôt
Le droit de restitution directe
Réglementation stricte en matière de conservation de titres
Une protection maximale
Aucune protection en cas de moins-value
Fonds communs de placement conservés sur un compte-titres
Règlement d'intervention
1. La protection couvrant la non-restitution de titres confiés en dépôt

Cette protection s'applique aux instruments financiers qu'un client a donnés en conservation à sa banque ou à sa société de bourse. Dans le cas où ce client ne serait plus à même de récupérer ses titres en raison de la défaillance du dépositaire, il peut faire appel au système de protection pour la perte qu'il aurait subie.

2. Le droit de restitution directe

Il convient toutefois d'attirer l'attention sur l'importante protection légale dont bénéficie un client pour les valeurs qu'il a confiées à son institution financière. En effet, le client demeure toujours le légitime propriétaire de ses titres et dispose d'un droit de revendication direct sur ceux-ci. Cela signifie que les titres doivent lui être rendus par le curateur et ne peuvent dès lors jamais tomber dans la masse des actifs d'une faillite éventuelle.

3. Réglementation stricte en matière de conservation de titres

L'activité d'un établissement financier ayant trait aux instruments financiers est par ailleurs soumise à des règles très strictes. La législation entrée en vigueur à partir de novembre 2007 suite à la Directive MiFID contient d'ailleurs des mesures qui mènent à une meilleure protection des investisseurs, pas seulement en raison du perfectionnement des règles de conduite et de la réglementation en matière d'exécution d'ordres et d'organisation interne des institutions financières mais aussi grâce au renforcement des prescriptions en matière de conservation d'instruments financiers pour compte de clients.

Une autre contribution à l'optimisation plus avancée de la conservation de titres est apportée par la législation ayant trait à la suppression des titres au porteur qui prévoit que plus aucun effets au porteur ne seront en circulation fin 2013.

Une intervention de la part du système de protection ne devra seulement être envisagée que, si après restitution de tous les titres disponibles (les titres appartenant à la clientèle ainsi que, dans le cas où certains titres seraient manquants, ceux appartenant à l'institution même), des clients n'auraient pas pu récupérer certains de leurs avoirs. De tels cas de figure ne devraient survenir qu'en cas de fautes administratives ou autres irrégularités.

4. Une protection maximale

En raison de ces solides garanties, le risque qu'une créance d'un client reste ouverte vis-à-vis de l'institution défaillante, après restitution de tous les titres disponibles, est très limité. Pour ces raisons, le montant maximum de la couverture supplémentaire offerte par le système de protection reste fixé à € 20.000 par personne et par institution. Si, par ailleurs, le client concerné n'avait pas encore été entièrement indemnisé, il conserverait sur l'institution financière une créance pour laquelle il pourra prétendre à l'attribution d'un dividende de liquidation ou de faillite.

5. Aucune protection en cas de moins-value

La restitution des effets donnés en dépôt se fera sous forme de transfert vers un compte-titres ouvert auprès d'une autre institution, quelle que soit la valeur de ces titres au moment de la défaillance du dépositaire. En effet, le système de protection n'offre aucune couverture contre une moins-value éventuelle de ces titres.

6. Fonds communs de placement conservés sur un compte-titres

Les sociétés d'investissement (Sicav) ou fonds de placement sont des entités juridiques distinctes et investissent leurs moyens dans des actifs qui sont leur propriété et qui ne peuvent dès lors tomber dans la masse des actifs d'une faillite éventuelle du dépositaire. Ces actifs reviennent donc aux clients.

7. Règlement d'intervention

Les conditions précises qui doivent être remplies pour pouvoir faire appel à la protection sont mentionnées dans le règlement d'intervention.

Ce règlement détermine les bénéficiaires qui entrent en ligne de compte pour une indemnisation, la nature des avoirs indemnisables, la méthode de calcul de l'indemnisation et les procédures à respecter.

 

NB: Aucun droit ne découle de l'information ci-avant.